Fri-yay

Happy Fri-yay! And its extra good because Jeff is off work next week and we’re looking forward to a few quick trips and day trips here and there. Some unlimited fam time is going to be so good. 

Last night was probably the earliest Julian has been put to bed in probably…months. He took a shorter nap, only an hour and I knew he was tired. Plus Jeff was out for a work dinner so I didn’t have that distraction. 😉 I left his room at 8:05!!! And didn’t go back in until 7:15 this morning.  In a my perfect world he’d be going to bed by 7:30 and definitely no later than 8. But in real life if he went to bed that early he’d get to spend all of an hour (generous) with his dad each day so Bedtime gets pushed back.

We had such a fun morning yesterday! I met my friend and her daughter who’s Julian’s age at Smolak Farm for story time and a craft and exploring the farm. I was a little skeptical about the craft portion when my friend first told me about it but I’m so glad we gave it a try. I helped Jul make the cutest chicken! His first craft, and even though I did the cutting and gluing he colored the “feathers.” I was so proud of him and felt like he was such a big boy.

IMG_4169

The slightly cooler dry weather and pink lemonade and apple cider donuts upon arrival definitely helped kick the morning off on a high note, too.

So, something I’ve been meaning to talk about on here. Childcare.

I finally hired a babysitter for Julian, something I’ve been wrestling back and forth with for the better part of a year. I’m so lucky to be a stay at home mom, let me say that. And I’m not going to discredit myself either, I worked hard for years to get myself in this position as this was something Jeff and I discussed for a while before we even tried for a baby. And Jeff works super hard to keep it that way for now. 

However, I need a break sometimes, just being real. This mom stuff has aged me ten fold and made my bones so tired. It could partially be the pregnancy too, but you get it. Jeff works long hours, travels often for work and these are longgg days, especially when Julian wasn’t napping. Then the weekend comes and it’s not much of a break because Jeff’s gotta be outside taking care of the yard and the house and especially this summer, slaving away to build our new back deck. Relief has been few and far between. We just don’t have any help and even if we do in desperate times, it’s definitely not consistent. And now with my mom being gone and there’ll be another baby in the mix in a few months  I’ve come to realize it’s time. I need a hand. 

I finally bit the bullet and with Jeff’s urging set off to find someone to come over and help me out, one morning a week to start and maybe occasional date nights (what is a date night, anyway?). I heard a few people I know having luck with care.com so that’s where I went and ultimately where I found my sitter. She seems great and I’m so relieved to have found someone Julian seems to enjoy as well.

What am I even going to do with my new found time? First on the agenda is going to be getting my hair cut, it’s been like 9 months and I so desperately need a refresh. I’ll probably try and pick up a yoga class here or there since I never can get to one at night or weekends it seems. And there’ll be some times where I just stay home and pay bills or make phone calls about bills or do other boring stuff like grocery shopping that’s all harder to do when you have a toddler.

I’m excited to get a little freedom before I get chained back down by life with a newborn and a toddler. And maybe even start to enjoy a couple date nights here and there? I cant even tell you the last time we went out just us two. And while we do take Julian out to eat fairly often and he usually is pretty good its not the same as one on one time. 

Anyways, childcare is always something that’s elluded me. For those who’ve had to find childcare from scratch, how did you do it? How long did it take you to wrap your mind around trusting your most precious posession with someone you’ve met a couple times?

But as I tell my yoga classes, self care is so important. You need to fill our own cup so you can give to others. That goes for everyone and anyone, but at this stage of my life I am definitely feeling and seeing a need to more regularly pour into my own cup.

As far as today goes it’s pretty gray outside. I think we’re going to enjoy a lazy morning since we’ve had to be out of the house early most days of this week. I should probably start laundry and organizing myself for next week. And I’m kinda craving to make these pumpkin muffins

Have a good Friday!

Xoxo Liz

Leave a Reply

