Mother’s Day 2017

Yesterday was my second mother’s day.

My sister sent me this photo earlier last week that she took of me and my Jujubee last year on Mother’s Day.

IMG_3906

A few things come to mind.

1. OMG chubby babyy!!!! 

2. Hot Mess Mom mode.

3. So. Tired/overwhelmed/stressed out

4. What was I thinking having both mine and Jeff’s families over, like didn’t I have enough going on with my colicky, acid reflux baby?? <– I totally remember thinking this too, but it just seemed easier since Jules’ sleeping and eating was so difficult at the time.

This year was was soo different. I posted this last night on IG. (Follow me!)

Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 12.44.22 PM

I can’t believe how far we’ve come between 6 and 18 months. My whole mindset has shifted regarding this whole motherhood thing and I felt it SO much yesterday. Last year I felt alone in the sense like, “Why am I the only mom who isn’t up on my facebook page, giving thanks to how happy I am being a mom and thanking my child for choosing me as his mother” and all those tributes people write. Where last year I was searching for that joy, this year I truly, truly felt it and realizing this made me so grateful and so happy. I’ve come so far in 12 months it’s almost as if a weight has been lifted off me.

Last year I was juggling a cranky, grumpy Julian, feedings and naps while cleaning the house and getting our food together – not relaxing. This year Jeff let me sleep in while he took Julian out of the house. They came home with a dark roast coffee and chocolate croissant for me, along with flowers and a card Julian carried over to me himself. So amazing and it meant so much. Julian then gave me the best gift of all, a 2 hour nap midday and me and Jeff just vegged out. I felt slightly guilty for not doing anything but the weather was so rainy and dark we just stayed cozy. What a difference a year makes!

The rest of the day was a bit more hectic and I got some bad news about my mom’s cancer but I was able to spend time with her in the end and saw my MIL as well.

It’s not like me to be super in detail on social media but I just had to say something yesterday….and then elaborate today on my mom blog 😉

I cannot wait to see where we are as a family this time next year. I hope anyone reading this enjoyed a weekend well spent this past week.

Xoxo Liz

 

Leave a Reply

