Superlife Book Review and Eating Healthy

I just finished the book Superlife by Shakeology founder Darin Olien. As you may know, I am a big fan of Anna Renderer and her Pop Sugar workouts that I do on Youtube. Since I clearly can’t get enough of her, when I found out she does a Facebook book club I had to join and Superlife was the first book I jumped in on.

Screen Shot 2017-05-09 at 3.24.56 PM

Source

From the Amazon description…

“In Superlife, Darin Olien provides us with an entirely new way of thinking about health and wellbeing by identifying what he calls the life forces: Quality Nutrition, Hydration, Detoxification, Oxygenation, and Alkalization. Olien demonstrates in great detail how to maintain these processes, thereby allowing our bodies to do the rest. He tells us how we can maintain healthy weight, prevent even the most serious of diseases, and feel great. He explains that all of this is possible without any of the restrictive or gimmicky diet plans that never work in the long term.”

Wow guys. It definitely gave me pause and made me think different about healthy eating. The author’s history and take interested me. He is a true healthy eating guru who works out heavy 6 days a week and doesn’t eat any animal protein, and he’s a world traveller in search of the healthiest natural foods with the most amazing benefits for his products.

 

My biggest takeaway and one that admittedly has me scratching my head is his emphasis on eating locally grown, organic food over all others. That includes the obvious conventionally grown foods but also cautions against eating something organic but produced halfway around the world since by the time you actually buy and eat it, it will have lost a significant amount of its nutrients. The fresher from the ground/tree/etc. you are able to eat, the more benefits you are reaping from the healthy properties of that food.

Which does lead me into confusion in the sense that I don’t have a ton of time to peruse the grocery store stands for specific items and I also live in New England, not a region especially known for it’s awesome farming in the way a Cali or a Mexico is. So do I choose a box of strawberries grown in Florida that’s been conventionally grown or a box from Mexico because it’s organic yet probably took longer to get to my store which means a lot of the health properties have worn away over time? This question is haunting me.

Olien also talks a lot about the acid/alkaline balance in our bodies. Our bodies function their best at a 7 on the ph scale or a tiny bit under that (aka a tiny bit more alkaline). Foods high in sugar and animal proteins and carbs and processed foods make our bodies more acidic which means we have to work to bring that down. Foods such as kale, cinnamon, sprouts and berries make our bodies more alkaline. He gives a whole list of alkaline foods in the book.

Speaking of our bodies functioning best at a slightly alkaline level, they also function best when our cells have lot of access to oxygen. It gets pretty scientific but he gets into how cancer cells use glucose for energy instead of oxygen, thus the less acidifying sugar and more oxygen we get into our lungs by breathing (even more by working out and breathing heavy) the better off we are. Definitely interesting

So basically here I am now trying to figure out how to shift my eating into something better. I’ve been healthy eating conscious for a while now but pregnancy and new mom life kind of made me lazy and I introduced a lot more packaged foods, cheese, sweets and meat back into my diet than I’d like to admit. Plus, now it’s not just about “eat more veggies” but thinking about where to get the best food without breaking the bank on the reg. and totally going out outside my weekly routine.

Food for thought indeed.

Has anyone else read this book? What did you think?

Xoxo Liz

One thought on “Superlife Book Review and Eating Healthy

Leave a Reply

