30 Day Challenge to Eat-In

Happy Thursday! I kind of can’t believe Thursday is already here, we made it pretty painlessly to this point. Jules is down for a nap after an active morning of playing while I did a HIIT cardio and abs youtube video (killed me!), then we stopped by Jeff’s moms to play with his cousins for an hour before coming home for lunch. Here’s to hoping the rest of the day and week slips by pretty painlessly as well.

Jeff and I were talking on the ride home from our getaway last week about ways we can improve our life (as we always seem to on long car rides?? Does anyone else do this or are we just a bunch of weirdos?).

IMG_3702

(Matching in our plaids, I just noticed. How cute of us!)

Cleaning up our eating is definitely one of those things, as is saving some extra $$, so we set up a little challenge for ourselves. Its not revolutionary or anything, but we decided to try and see if we can not go out to eat or order in any food for 30 days. This is big for us! We’ve always enjoyed going to restaurants ever since we met and even having a 1 year old we still try to get out – we just go early and to casual places. Also, ordering in is SO good when I’m in a pinch.

Mainly, this challenge applies to dinner but we’re trying for all meals, including coffee. Full disclosure, Ive already failed a few times getting a quick bite to eat at the Starbucks drive through and I definitely hit up Dunkin Donuts on the way home from class yesterday. But we’re about a week in and so far we’ve eaten dinner every night at our house, cooked by moi.

I plan to have a few super easy things on hand at all times that we can throw together in a pinch.

  • Bread, low salt American cheese, earth balance for grilled cheese and Amy’s low sodium tomato soup.
  • Frozen dough in the fridge for pizzas. The problem with this is if I forget to take the dough out to thaw!
  • stuff for salad
  • Hummus and Pita bread

My biggest challenge, ok well one of two challenges, is going to be coming up with different meals so we don’t get bored. The other challenge is carving out the time to cook a full meal while chasing a crazy toddler around, all before 630 pm when Jeff gets home from work.

I’ll be scouring my favorite food blogs (perfect timing since my favorite food blogger ELR is back!), hitting up Cooking Light, and Pinterest to keep things interesting.

For tonight I have some bone in, skin on chicken thighs in the fridge that I need to find something to do with. I always buy boneless, skinless chicken breast but thanks to the storm this week, the store was all out of anything boneless and skinless. I have been hearing a lot of buzz about thighs though and how delicious they are so maybe this is a good thing.

I’ll keep you posted on how we do. I fully expect a couple slip ups here and there due to poor planning on my end and rough afternoons with Julian but I figure if we can even do a tiny bit better than the last few months that’s a pretty good thing.

What your favorite things to have on hand for quick and easy dinners?

Xoxo Liz

One thought on “30 Day Challenge to Eat-In

Leave a Reply

