Thinking Out Loud Thursday 2

Buenos Dias. I’m back this afternoon with my first post in a while for Thinking Out Loud Thursdays with Amanda. Thanks for hosting!

screen-shot-2016-12-08-at-10-50-36-am

SLEEP STRUGGLES

First off, we’ve been having some pretty disruptive sleep issues this past week. Naps have been all over the place and for a while, Julian was waking up for a couple hours in the middle of the night banging around his crib, whining and crying. Naps were short or nonexistant. On Tuesday I began to fall into a depression thinking we were back to all the old non sleeping, cranky baby ways. I actually think he might have just been teething and that night was the first time he went down for bedtime without having a full on temper tantrum for 30 minutes in his crib before sleeping. And, not to mention I was out with my sisters and my mom for a Christmas play in Boston and Jeff was the one to put him down so that was actually a pretty good win (aka not nursing him to sleep for once).

Sigh, the last two days have been better though so maybe he hasn’t fallen into his old ways? One never knows with him. He’s currently upstairs napping in his carseat because he fell asleep on the way home from running a Christmas shopping errand. Yesterday he slept for almost 4 hours, albeit in his carseat in his room again, but still. He was in a great mood the rest of the day and happy baby = ecstatic mama.

One last thing about sleep. I can’t believe how elusive baby sleep is. Some kids are wonderful sleepers, taking predictable, long naps and sleeping through the night from an early age. Others, like Julian, basically hate sleeping and anything to do with it and even at 1 year he’s still up once a night (on a good night) and his naps are so unpredictable and often short. Why. If you have a sleeper, just be thankful.

CHRISTMAS

Moving on, I am slowwwwly crossing people off my shopping list at turtle speed. I wrapped the few gifts I got for Jeff during the epic nap yesterday and I am hoping to maybe break out of here tonight when Julian goes to bed and get the rest of our shopping done. The thing is, I could probably bang out the rest of it in a couple hours but it’s impossible with the little guy. Man, every year I am such a procrastinator with shopping and every year I say next year will be different. But it never is.

img_3488

This is a picture of my moms tree but I didn’t have one of mine with our presents under it.

HEALTH KICK

I’m going on a health kick guys. I’ve also been procrastinating this, but its something that needs to happen. I’ve been too out of control for too long and I’ve finally hit my limit. Maybe last week’s Heavnly Donut party was the icing on the cake. I don’t know. But its changing.

How can I be doing this with just days to go before Christmas, you ask? Well let me tell you. I’m still going to be indulging, but only on special occasions. If I am at a party or gathering and there’s a cookie I can’t resist, I’m going to eat it. I’ll have a glass of wine here and there but no more nightly glass of wine or beer when I’m just hanging in at home.

I’ve been feeling less than stellar for a while now. I’m constantly breaking out, my body feels soft and yuck, and I’m always so tired.  Yes, I am still nursing and yes I wake up every night to care for Julian, but I think it has more to do with the fact I am not properly fueling my body with good food and enough water. I used to be so on point with this, guys. I would still have drinks and treat myself but 80-90% of the time I ate super clean, lots of greens, and drank lots of water. And I didn’t overeat, which is another prob of mine.

So it’s time. I started last night by skipping my glass of wine or beer even though Jeff was having a beer and it sounded so good. No chocolate free for all after dinner either. I still wanted something sweet so I stuck to a simple Luna protein bar and cup of Candy Cane Mint Green Tea while Jeff and I watched a movie. Hey it’s an improvement. I gotta take baby steps or this will never happen.

Once the holidays are all out of the way I’ll get more serious. I told Jeff this last night and he was on board which I’m not actually sure if he’s going to go healthy with me or if he’s just going to be supportive, lol. I’m ready to make a change though.

CHRISTMAS II
img_3511

Ending with a pic of us at my sisters Christmas party this weekend. My hair is in a messy bun on top of my head because who has time to do hair with a baby running around? Also, every article of clothing I am wearing is all from before I had Julian. I don’t think its too obvious here,  or maybe it is, but I need a serious closet update.

 

2 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud Thursday 2

  1. My first 3 kids- sleep champions
    My 4th – she’s like buddy the elf. Gets a full 40 minutes and she’s great. She will be 3 in April and has yet to sleep through the night. Thankfully since she turned 1 she takes a 3 hour nap every afternoon…it’s on the couch, because apparently her bed is evil, but I don’t care anymore as long as she gets that nap!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

